Users with at least 1 photo stored in Google Photos as of September 1, 2023 may still access this service, but we strongly discourage its use.
Why is this disabled? We no longer have unlimited Google storage, and Google Photos data is often lost or forgotten during account deprovisioning. In early 2023, Google began enforcing storage limits on all Workspace for Education users, taking Geneseo’s Google storage pool from “unlimited” to “about 100 TB”, of which Google Photos consumes about 10 TB. To fit within our Google storage quota, we need to prevent new users from starting to use Google Photos.
Why is this disabled? When someone leaves Geneseo, they lose their Geneseo Google account. We do not want anyone to lose access to something they purchased through Google Pay when that happens.